Leaders in renewables innovation shortlisted for Action Renewables Awards

Pictured at announcement of the 2016 Action Renewables Awards shortlist are Ciaran McConville, Action Renewables with event sponsors Maria O’Loan, Tughans and Mary Rossiter, Vayu Energy. Known as the flagship awards of the renewables industry in Northern Ireland, the Action Renewables Awards recognise business and organisations working within the renewables industry as well as projects setting the example for best practice across Northern Ireland. This year’s twenty seven shortlisted entries will be acknowledged at the 8th annual Action Renewables Awards on 31st March where winning entries will be named by event host Jamie Delargy.

Following the highest entry rate to date for the annual Action Renewables Awards, organisers Action Renewables joined with event sponsors – renewable electricity supplier, Vayu Energy; Tughans Solicitors; and the Department of Environment – to announce the shortlisted entries for the awards, which will take place on 31st March at Titanic Belfast.

Following the announcement of the shortlist for this year’s awards luncheon Ciaran McConville, Business Development and Marketing Assistant, Action Renewables, said, “The outstanding number of entries for this year’s awards shows that enthusiasm for renewables in Northern Ireland is continuing to grow from strength to strength as more and more local businesses, community organisations, schools, and trusts harness the power of renewables to cut costs and reduce carbon footprints.”

“We are delighted to sponsor the Action Renewables Awards for the second year running,” added Mary Rossiter, Marketing Manager, Vayu Energy. “This year’s entries were outstanding and we look forward to acknowledging all of the local individuals and organisations helping to further renewables in Northern Ireland. As a supplier of 100% green electricity, we are seeing increased interest in renewables among Northern Irish businesses looking to cut costs, reduce their carbon emissions, and cut reliance on imported fuel sources.”

Continuing their long-standing relationship with the Action Renewables Awards, Maria O’Loan, Planning and Environment Partner, Tughans added, “We have been especially impressed this year with the level of entries from small community groups and the third sector, showing that renewables are no longer considered a non-essential alternative energy, but instead a modern and forward-thinking means of responsibly fuelling Northern Ireland.”

“These awards are a great way to reward and celebrate steps local organisations are taking to reduce their environmental impact,” added Angus Kerr, Director of Planning Policy Division, Department of Environment. “We are delighted to sponsor the Action Renewables Awards in 2016 and look forward to recognising the outstanding work that local companies are doing to ‘go green.’”

Winners of the 2016 Action Renewables Awards will be announced at the flagship industry awards event held at Titanic Belfast with host Jamie Delargy in advance of a gourmet lunch and afternoon networking event on Thursday 31st March.


Best Community Renewables Project
Bryson Energy
Grass Roots Renewables CIC
NICE (Northern Ireland Community Energy Cooperative

Best Renewables Installation within the Education, Health Care and Public Sector
Fold Housing Association
Northern Ireland Assembly
Saliis Renewables Ltd

Best Planning For a Sustainable Project
Choice Housing Ireland Ltd
Hamilton Architects
JCP Consulting Ltd

Most Environmentally Sustainable Construction Project
Choice Housing Ireland Ltd
Graham Austin, Green Energy Store Ltd
John Graham Construction Ltd

Most Successful Renewable Heat Installation
Alternative Heat Ltd
Ballyboyland Biomass
Bryson Energy

Most Successful Renewable Electricity Installation
BHC Distributors
Northern Ireland Housing Executive
Saliis Renewables Ltd

Best Energy Saving SME
Ballylagan Organic Farm
Harvey Group PLC
Ocean View Chalets

Best Energy Saving Large Organisation
Fold Housing Association
South Eastern Health & Social Care Trust
Queen’s University

Outstanding Award For Work In the Renewable Energy Sector in NI
Dominic McLarnon (University of Ulster)
Noel Rice (NIHE)
Richard Bell (Solmatix)